OC Mayors' Association President DiAnne C. Gove of Long Beach Township began the November meeting with a flag salute and a moment of silence in memory of long-time association president, Mayor Dave Siddons of Island Heights who died in October.

Our Guests in November...

Lucy Vandenberg (above), Executive Director of the Council on Affordable Housing (COAH) spoke to a full house at the November meeting. Municipalities across the state are wrestling with state requirements for affordable housing as deadlines for action approach. COAH is an agency within the N.J. Dept. of Community Affairs  Vandenberg provided a brief history of affordable housing as a government mandate beginning with the State Supreme Court Mt. Laurel decisions in the 1980s. Local governments must submit affordable housing plans to COAH by December 31, she said, or they could become the targets of builder lawsuits. If successful, those suits could permit high-density housing that might override local zoning restrictions. A second speaker, Michael Cerra (left), Senior Legislative Analyst for the N,J. League of Municipalities, explained the league's views on housing issues. The league does not disagree with COAH;s goals, he said, but is part of a court challenge to the regulatory specifics meant to meet them. With oral arguments expected in mid-2009, a decision may not be announced until late in the year or early in 2010, he said.

Ocean County Mayors site by

Township of Barnegat
Borough of Barnegat Light
Borough of Bay Head
Borough of Beach Haven
Borough of Beachwood
Township of Berkeley
Township of Brick
Township of Eagleswood
Borough of Harvey Cedars
Borough of Island Heights
Township of Jackson
Township of Lacey
Borough of Lakehurst
Borough of Lakewood
Borough of Lavalette
Township of Little Egg Harbor
Township of Long Beach
Township of Manchester
Borough of Mantoloking
Township of Ocean
Borough of Ocean Gate
Borough of Pine Beach
Township of Plumsted
Borough of Point Pleasant
Borough of Point Pleasant Beach
Borough of Seaside Heights
Borough of Seaside Park
Borough of Ship Bottom
Borough of South Toms River
Township of Stafford
Borough of Surf City
Township of Toms River
Borough of Tuckerton


Our Next Meeting

Thursday, December 18, 2008

The Association will hold a business meeting at the Legend Restaurant adjacent to the Howard Johnson Hotel located at 955 Hooper Avenue, Toms River. Registration begins at 8:30 AM. This will be a regular business meeting; however there will not be a guest speaker. This meeting will address the Association bylaws and the upcoming New Year. As a way to encourage Ocean County Mayor’s to attend this meeting, the meeting fee will be waived for the mayors. Guests will pay the normal $15 fee,

Capacity is limited to 50. Kindly RSVP no later than Monday, December 15, 2008. Contact April at 732-644-0657 or  Administrator@ocmayors.com (please indicate number of attendees, and names if possible).

Ocean County Mayors' Association Found Tax Exempt By IRS. Donations Are Deductible. Documentation of this determination and related financial disclosure documents are available for public examination.