<u>RESOLUTION</u>#2011 - 02

RESOLUTION OF THE OCEAN COUNTY MAYORS' ASSOCIATION, COUNTY OF OCEAN, STATE OF NEW JERSEY, REQUESTING THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY DEPARTMENT OF ENVIRONMENTAL PROTECTION TO WAIVE PERMIT FEES FOR MUNICIPALITIES

WHEREAS, the Ocean County Mayors' Association conducted a meeting on October 27, 2011. During the meeting there was discussion concerning the fees paid by Municipalities to the State of New Jersey, Department of Environmental Protect (NJDEP) for permits;

WHEREAS, Municipalities are in difficult economic times;

WHEREAS, Municipalities are attempting to control costs to the taxpayers;

WHEREAS, Municipalities perform public improvements on public property for public use;

WHEREAS, Municipalities have Consultants that review these public improvements;

WHEREAS, some of these public improvements require certain permits from the State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection;

WHEREAS, the Ocean County Mayors' Association recognizes the State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection permit fees increase the costs of the projects to the taxpayers;

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED, the Ocean County Mayor's Association in order to provide relief to the taxpayers requests the State of New Jersey Department of Environmental Protection to Waive permit fees for Municipalities for public projects on public owned land for public use.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, that a certified copy of this resolution shall be provided by the Secretary of the Ocean County Mayors' Association to each of the following:

- a. The Honorable Chris Christie, Governor of the State of New Jersey
- b. The Honorable United States Congressmen Jon Runyan and Christopher H. Smith
- c. The Honorable United States Senators Robert Menendez and Frank R. Lautenberg
- d. The Honorable State Senators Christopher J. Connors, Andrew R. Ciesla and Robert W. Singer
- e. The Honorable State Assembly Members DiAnne C. Gove, Brian E. Rumpf, David W. Wolfe, James W. Holzapfel, Joseph R. Malone and Ronald S. Dancer
- f. The Honorable Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders
- g. All Ocean County Mayors
- h. The New Jersey State League of Municipalities
- i. The New Jersey Conference of Mayors

CERTIFICATION

I, Stephen C. Acropolis, President of the Ocean County Mayors' Association, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of a resolution duly adopted at an Ocean County Mayors' Association regular business meeting held on the 27th day of October, 2011.

Stephen C. Acropolis, President - Ocean County Mayors' Association

Mayor - Township of Brick