<u>RESOLUTION</u> #2013 - 01

RESOLUTION OF THE OCEAN COUNTY MAYORS' ASSOCIATION, COUNTY OF OCEAN, STATE OF NEW JERSEY, OPPOSING SENTE BILL 2368

Whereas; On October 29, 2012 the State of New Jersey and in particular the environs of the 'Jersey Shore' and its oceanfront municipalities were laid waste by the historic and disastrous effects of "Super Storm Hurricane Sandy"; and

Whereas; since such time, these locales and municipalities have, on behalf of resident of their communities, the State and tourists to the State and working with Federal Emergency Management Administration (FEMA), summoned the services and funds of the US Government to restore the physical locations and traditions of these locales for the purposes of restoration, normalization and resolve of future certainty; and

Whereas; in the belief that this genuine and joint effort will bring future normalization and certainty to these communities and visitors; and

Whereas; also in the belief of knowledgeable people the services and funds of the Sandy Relief Aid will not satisfy all of the cost associated with this historic and devastating weather event; and

Whereas; there has been introduced in the state legislature, Senate Bill 2368; and

Whereas; Senate Bill 2368 would, after massive restoration efforts, prohibit and prevent continued implementation of future funding of beach protection and maintenance by New Jersey municipalities who have participated in the FEMA and US Government 'Sandy Storm Aid' programs; and

Whereas; Senate Bill 2368 would further costly mandates upon these Municipalities without the traditional sources of user fees;

Now Therefore be it Resolved, that the Ocean County Mayors' Association, by a vote of its membership on February 12, 2013, is on record as being in opposition to Senate Bill 2368; and

Be It Further Resolved, that a certified copy of this resolution shall be provided by the Secretary of the Ocean County Mayors' Association to each of the following:

- a. The Honorable Chris Christie, Governor of the State of New Jersey
- b. The Honorable United States Congressmen Jon Runyan and Christopher H. Smith

- c. The Honorable United States Senators Robert Menendez and Frank R. Lautenberg
- d. The Honorable State Senators Christopher J. Connors, James W. Holzapfel and Robert W. Singer
- e. The Honorable State Assembly Members DiAnne C. Gove, Brian E. Rumpf, David W. Wolfe, Sean T. Kean and David P. Rible
- f. The Honorable Ocean County Board of Chosen Freeholders
- g. All Ocean County Mayors
- h. The New Jersey State League of Municipalities
- i. The New Jersey Conference of Mayors

CERTIFICATION

I, William W. Curtis, Secretary of the Ocean County Mayors' Association, do hereby certify that the foregoing is a true copy of a resolution duly adopted at an Ocean County Mayors' Association regular business meeting held on the 12th day of February, 2013.

William W. Curtis, Secretary - Ocean County Mayors' Association